Just Wanna Have Fun

Somewhere in the midst of completing over 50 lengthy and time consuming homework problems, we did manage to have some fun in Rome the first week! We went out to Piazza di Santa Maria again on Friday night, and it was so pretty there!  We didn’t stay very long, but we tried to fit in with the locals! We got gelato again (SO good…hazelnut and cafe are my favorite flavors). Then we each got a drink (sorry mom and dad, but it’s legal here and we were safe!).  All I got was a little bit of sangria, cus it was the cheapest and I have never tried it…but I like wine so it was a good choice.  Then we walked to sit on these steps that we figured out is the “cool” thing to do….we sat for a bit…but then decided they weren’t as exciting as they look! It was not too eventful, but fun to see Rome in it’s glory….at night, all lit up and much cooler than the blistering daytime sun.

Last night we had hamburgers for the 4th of July at one of the other students’ apartment…and they were good! I have to admit, as much as I love Italian food, I was really missing food from back home….burgers, fries, normal sandwiches. eggs and bacon, tacos, burritos, chicken..etc. Seriously, everywhere you go, you can get coffee drinks, pastries, pizza, pasta or some grilled veggies (eggplant and zucchini usually), and that’s where the selection ends.  One of the boy’s arpartments cooked, and I must say, it was SO good! For a bunch of boys they were quite the chefs…we had grilled onions, grilled bell peppers, grilled eggplant, lettuce, tomato and ketchup to put on the burgers, which were garlic-y, juicy and yummy! They even made fries! They had tons of drinks too, and all we had to chip in was 3 euro each!

I went home early. because I needed to finish my homework and get in bed so that I could get up for church at the Basillica di Santa Maria, one of the oldest Catholic churches in Rome, dating back to 4th century AD.  Unfortunately, everyone I was planning on going with stayed out too late and slept in! 😦  I was still up at 7 and walked to the tram at 8:30 to see if the other people would show up, and when they didn’t, I decided to go back and wait til the next service at the church right down the street (walking distance).  I didn’t want to travel that far alone! On the way back, one of the coffee bar owners called me into his shop and gave me a free cappuccino! He was such a nice old man! He just wanted to talk for a bit, so it was a good opportunity for me to practice my Italian…which isn’t very good! He spoke little English, but kept offering me fresh baked croissants and telling me to be safe and trying to teach me a little Italian.  It was a fun experience! And the coffee was sooo good! I told him I worked for a bit as a barista at home, and he was overjoyed! Lol. When walking back, I saw the sign at the local church read 8:00 and 10:30, so I decided I would go back for the 10;30 mass, but when I got there, it was locked up! Maybe the Italian words surrounding the sign didn’t mean there would be mass at that time…I was bummed, but I will try again as soon as possible!

When I got back, my roommate, Laura, was awake (everyone else was still sleeping), so we decided to go to the famous flea market, Porta Portise.  It was huge! I didn’t find anything I like, but it was cool to walk around! Then we got some lunch at a pizza place…it was delicious. I got one with sausage on it….which is rare, most pizza places only offer cheese, olive, and some selections with tons of veggies. Laura got one with thin slices of potato and rosemary on top, I tried it and it was really good! The pizza here is not much like pizza at home…no sauce, no meat usually, and a wider variety of cheese (I think).

So now, I’m just relaxing cus my homework is finally done and I’m so tired from waking up at 7…but it feels good to just sit and relax without any work hanging over my head.  Need to get rest anyways for a long week of class and excursions every day!So here are some pics from today and Piazza di Santa Maria! Enjoy! Hope you’re all doing well! Miss you all! Much love..xoxo

3 comments
  1. Kevin said:

    i love hearing your updates Brynn, they are well detailed and glad your enjoying your time there!

    we all miss you! xoxo

  2. Grandma said:

    Wow Brynn – I’m vicariously living this with you and your descriptions and pictures are bringing it all to life. You write so well. Enjoy every minute. Love you lots.

  3. mom said:

    Brynnie, I wish I had been with you, trying to go to church! 🙂 You are so sweet and I can just see you now giving it all you had. Your pictures are awesome and I love how you chatted with the sweet man at the coffee shop and how cool that all sounded. The funniest is the bras and books? at the flea market! too funny! Guess what? I had a glass of Sangria this weekend too and it was lovely. I don’t think I’ve ever tried it and I put some fruit in it 🙂 So glad you tasted some American food on the 4th (sounded yummy). We miss you so much and thanks for taking the time to post! We’re proud of you. love, mom oxoxoxoxoxoxo P.S. Have fun on your journey this week 🙂 and be safe …. oxoxox

Leave a Reply

