Sublimity Was Sublime

So I just got back two days ago from Sublimity, OR, a very small city outside of the capital Salem, where my grandparents live.  Kevin and I went up there for a week, right after school got out…a much needed break from the ridiculous quarter that we both had.  Fall quarter of my senior year was a non-stop stress ball.  This means that a week of relaxation, good food and the beauty of nature was exactly I needed.  My grandparents were so gracious to have us for the whole week, and my grandma made sure we gained about 5 pounds while we were there.  Her cooking was AMAZING, to say the least.  I’m almost positive that my love for cooking (and feeding people) came from her genes.  Another highlight of the trip was visiting Paneza Nellie’s…which is about the cutest, quaintest and delicious bakery/pizza place.  In the morning you can enjoy homemade pastries, cinnamon buns and fair trade coffee, and in the evening they make the best Italian food, especially their pizza.  My grandparents’ friend John owns the place and his whole family works there, making everything from scratch.  If you are ever in Oregon, near Salem, you really should go here to eat…but make sure to look up the hours, because they can change.   Anyways, here are a few pics from the trip that I stole from Kevin (hope you don’t mind Kev!):

My Grandma and Me

My Grandma and Me

Kev and I with Hannah

Kev and I with Hannah

Two Peas in a Pod

Two Peas in a Pod

Hannah...the monster

Hannah...the monster

Paneza Nellie

Paneza Nellie

Paneza Nellie's Pastries

yummmm....

bread quote

My thoughts exactly...

Cinnamon Buns

Cinnamon Buns and Coffee...delish

Coffee with Kev

Coffee with Kev

Walking to St. Boniface

Walking to St. Boniface

Lunch at the Oregon Gardens

Lunch at the Oregon Gardens

The Abbey at Mt. Angel

Exploring Mt. Angel Abbey

Leave a Reply

