Wins and Losses

It has most definitely been a rough week in the geometry class I am (attempting) to teach in.

3 Trigonometry Ratios + 2 Special Right Triangles + 35 Unmotivated Students + 1 Student Teacher  = 1 Short Lived Episode of Depression + 1 Decision To Try Harder

Here’s a break down of this weeks Wins and Losses:

Wins:

  • “Warm Up” lesson inspired by Awkward Family Photos (feel free to steal this gem)
  • Not having a mental breakdown in front of the class
  • Tutoring a couple students until they reached that “ah-ha, this is easy” moment
  • Multicultural fair that made class on Wednesday 5 minutes shorter
  • Third period doesn’t meet on Thursdays

Losses:

  • Futility of trying to make Warm Up fun/funny/noticeable
  • Developing teacher voice that sounds like a cross between Victoria “Gonna Have a Baby” and your mom.
  • Short term memory loss of the students who “got it” the day before
  • Got called “brazy”
  • Looked up “brazy” on UrbanDictionary.com
  • Students demanding cookies in exchange for learning
  • Multicultural Fair exposed fledgling social skills (I’m not a girl student, not yet a woman teacher)

Hopefully tomorrow will end the week on a brighter note. Made “Jeopardy” activity to review for test and bought two bags of candy to coerce participation. You do what you gotta do on Friday, Friday, gotta get down on Friday. Fun fun fun, yeah.

Read a book for my education studies class called Teaching Outside the Box: How to Grab Your Students by their Brains.  At this point, I’m well on my way towards writing a book called Teaching Outside the Cafeteria: How to Grab Your Students by their Stomachs.

Honestly, what did you expect?

2 comments
  1. Beryl Gunn/Grandma said:

    Hang in there Brazy – oops I meant Brynnie! Keep the cookies coming and you will be sure to get their attention. Winning!

  2. Mom said:

    Man yo sure iz brazy – I mean kwazy!!!!! I would have given the world for a math teacher/student teacher/aide, whatever, someone with any interest in helping me grasp math, LIKE YOU!!!!!! If they keep giving you a hard time, I’ll come down there and tell them how stupid I am and how many careers I would have loved to have had, with exception to my lack of math skills. I just needed someone to help me connect and I think I would have had the guts to get into teaching myself or the medical world. They are all going to live in a van down by the river, if they don’t start to appreciate you!!!! I love you Brynn and I’m so very proud of you!! love, mom oxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

