My Life in Cliches

So we had an assignment in my senior writing class to write a blog entry (not for this blog) that was “our life in cliches” in 300 words.  Basically, we had to insert as many cliches as we could, so before being all Mr. Judgey about my use of conventions in the English language, make sure you read….well, make sure you are reading this. Crap.

This is roughly what I turned in, with the exception of some textual bedazzling*.

My name is Brynn and I was born and raised in the Inland Empire, (not as great as the Roman one).  After high school, I flew the coop for sunny San Diego and you can bet your boots I won’t be leaving here any time soon (just kidding, nobody wants your crappy boots).  My interests are all over the map, literally, I’m interested in countries that are far apart from each other. Somewhere in between visiting Italy and Malawi, I caught the travel bug (probably in Italy, because I got like a million vaccines before going to Africa). But seriously, my interests stretch far and wide, kinda like pajama jeans. I’m all about math, reading, cooking, teaching, ping-pong, photography, bass guitar, dogs, cats, and walking faster than my friends.  Though my interests are hard to pin down, at the end of the day I decided to major in mathematics and minor in religious studies. When this chapter of my life ends, I’m banking on a career in teaching high school math, because it’s all about the Benjamins baby. And the other kids too.

Without getting too personal, I’m going to let you in on my personal life.  I’ve been in a meaningful relationship for over four years now, and all I have to say is that love is like a roller coaster without the height requirement.  I also have a personal relationship with Jesus, but I don’t know if I’d call him my “homeboy” because that’s rude. And by “rude”, I mean irreverent.  Just kidding.  My family is also a top priority in my life, because you can’t know where you’re going if you don’t remember where you came from.  Also, I like them. Last but not least, my personal philosophy is to do justice, love mercy and walk humbly, without forgetting to stop and smell the roses. Peace out.

No, your mom can’t write.

*by textual bedazzling, I mean the insertion of the word “crap” and other things a 14 year old boy would say

Here’s a photo of Bill Clinton at UCSD I found on the website…he’s probably here to congratulate us on being such a diverse campus.


2 comments
  1. Grandad said:

    Brynn,

    For you this assignment should have been as easy as Pi.

    Love ya,

    Cool as a Cucumber Grandad.

  2. Mom said:

    I’m laughing so hard, I have tears. I think the picture “sealed the deal” for me. That is classic!!!!! laughing out loud and proud 🙂 oxoxox

Leave a Reply

