The Gym

It appears that in about a month, I will (legally) lose my privileges to my apartment gym and yoga classes. So, I have been trying to take advantage of them.  Clearly, this is driven more by the fact that I feel the need to get my money’s worth and less by the desire to be healthy and fit.  I’m not cheap..stop making fun of me.  And where is that $2 you owe me?

But then last night, I spent a full half hour in the gym.  And I was like “Why don’t I do this EVERYDAY? It only takes a half hour.  I could be so healthy”.  I spend at least a half hour total each day taking a break from my homework to stare inside my cupboard and refrigerator.  You know, just in case something sweet or salty happens to be there.

But when I started thinking about it, I realized that it takes way more than a half hour. Here’s a breakdown:

  • Psyching myself up for the gym: 2 hours
  • Forgetting I was going to the gym and eating something: 20 minutes
  • Waiting so I don’t get a cramp: 1 hour
  • Looking for my sneakers: 15 minutes
  • Searching for the right cable station to watch while running: 5 minutes
  • Actually running (or walking, whatever): 30 minutes
  • Bragging to my boyfriend/parents/roommates that I worked out: 30 minutes
  • Shower and post-work out crash: 30 minutes

This is basically an all-night ordeal.

Nonetheless…I guess it has it’s benefits.  Namely, I don’t have cable television in my actual apartment.

*Side-note: In England, “fit” means “good-looking”.  I learned this from my British friend.  The more you know…

This is me running, according to Google Images

How do you feel about gyms and working out? Any good advice?

P.S. Shout out to my number one reader and Grandma: Happy Birthday!

14 comments
  1. Melissa said:

    How do I feel about gyms and working out??

    The same way I feel about sky-diving–it just ain’t gonna happen.

    Props to you for being so pro-active with your health. Can I please steal some inspiration? kthanks

    • Brynn said:

      You can have it all….I just came down with a cold this morning. I guess that’s a good excuse not to work out, right?

  2. Melissa said:

    First off, hilarious. Secondly, ONLY 30 minutes?!? (Yes, I have to give you a hard time…comes with the job.) haha Love you–keep up the good work!!

    • Brynn said:

      haha i knew you would have something to say about this post! thanks though..trying to make you proud!

  3. Rob said:

    I think I’m on the exact same page as you. I like it when I get there but it takes a lot of time to get there. One thing that I love about the gym are the people. There are people at my gym that work out in jeans and polos. Their is also a guy that does Tae Bo stretches before he runs on the treadmill. Crazy funny.

    • Brynn said:

      haha why is there ALWAYS somebody in jeans? it’s the same thing here…and it’s in an apartment complex. i mean, there are no excuses for not having your gym clothes with you. you live here.

  4. R Gunn. said:

    Brynn,

    When you come up to Oregon I will lend you Hannah. Trust me you will be fit or in hospital in less than 30 minutes, in fact it will only take about five minutes so you could get six days of exercise all wrapped up in 30 minutes, or maybe six days rest in the local hospital ward licking your wounds. Plus, just think about the positive aspect, absolute privacy during your walk as everyone can hear Hannah coming and retreats into their homes and businesses in total fear.

    Love, Grandad.

    PS. When it comes to exercise you are Grandma clone.

    • Brynn said:

      Grandad! Haha I think you guys could write a blog just about Hannah. I would probably end up with a broken face if I were to walk her. Also, I think Grandma and me are just clones, period. Love you!

  5. Grandma said:

    Brynn – Grandad will never let me forget the time I joined a gym and paid a year’s membership in advance. I did this with my business partner at the time (Margie, another clone). The first thing that put us off was the naked people in the ladies locker rooms and jacuzzi – we were too embarrassed to strip off for the hot tub, but mostly the trainer who put us through the first round of exercises could have been a Nazi concentration commandent. I remember after the first session we both staggered out into the parking lot and practically threw up. We headed for the nearest coffee shop and said ‘it’s not for us’.

    • Brynn said:

      Haha this made me laugh! I’m pretty sure we are the same person. Love you grandma!

    • Brynn said:

      Haha. That is a great name for it. Stealing that one.

Leave a Reply

