8 Thoughts

I’m going to skip the part where I explain why I haven’t been posting.

Here are some thoughts that have entered my skull this week:

  1. At a staff meeting, they kept referring to Administration as “Admin”.  Naturally, this led me to the greatest idea ever: a Mad Men spinoff called Madmin.  If you steal this idea, I will cut you.
  2. According to the teacher I work with, a male faculty member said that I “have the cutest dimple in my chin”.  Pretty sure that’s just a zit. Sorry.
  3. I generated Pascal’s Triangle with a 5 year old. The kid was able to see the pattern in the diagonals.  Genius.  Although he struggled with addition of two numbers greater than 5.
  4. Best student-generated math problem ever: “Snoop Dog was running at a rate of 6 miles per hour to get to his ’64 Impala, which is 30 miles away.  How long will it take him to get to the garage?”
  5. So there is a street that runs perpendicular (that’s geometry) to my street, but it once it hits my street, it stops, forcing cars to turn left or right.  However, I just realized if cars were to keep going straight, they would go straight into my driveway.  I  literally have to look 3 ways before I can back-out.  I’m not mad, it’s just weird.  Anybody else have this same predicament?
  6. There is a girl eating a green banana in my classroom.  Do I tell her to wait?
  7. Here are the notes I took during an observation of a geometry class:
  8. The bell rang so I need to stop.

    Please answer #4. Extra Credit: Show your work and define your variables.

24 comments
  1. Easy answer to number. it will take Snoop 30 minutes, as his entourage will pick him up, because Snoop don’t jog that far. They will then go 60 mph to get to his ’64 Impala, taking them 30 minutes to travel 30 miles. And this will never happen again after Snoop fires his entourage member who parked his car so far away.

    • Brynn said:

      I will accept that answer. That is some high order reasoning.

      • Good. I was afraid I would love points as I forgot to define my variables, but Snoop wouldn’t let me.

  2. Not enough information – is the Impala in the garage? Or is the garage a second destination an unknown distance away? And will Snoop get arrested before he gets there?

    • Brynn said:

      I just got word from Snoop to give up on this question, or “drop it like it’s hot.”

  3. Beryl Gunn/Grandma said:

    I think if I had been given a teacher like you in geometry class (instead of old spinster Miss Elliott) I would have done better than 2 out of 100 in the test. Is it too late for me?

    • Brynn said:

      Can I move to Oregon and be your geometry tutor? 🙂

      • Grandma said:

        Yes, Yes, Yes!

  4. Kevin said:

    i wish i could think the same way you do because it is funny 🙂

    • Brynn said:

      I mostly just read your mind and then write down your thoughts.

  5. mom said:

    OMG. Every single one of these made me laugh out loud, but especially #’s 4 -> 6!!! ha!!!! I really needed a “Brynn fix!” I miss you so much and hope you had a sweet house-warming!!! Looks like your new city is serving you well! So jealous of the “walk” to the local coffee shop 🙂 oxoxox

    • Brynn said:

      The house-warming went well! We got the place up to a nice, warm temperature.

  6. Emma said:

    Brynn, you are definitely one of my favorites. 🙂
    Just thought I would tell you that, since I think it every time you post a new blog. haha

    • Brynn said:

      one potential viewer already!

  7. I was seriously going to solve for x AND show my work, but then I read the comments, and realized that I’m not comfortable with being the only math nerd answering the problem.

    Five. Five hours.

    • Brynn said:

      honestly, i was expecting a mathematical answer. but you know these guys….

  8. Brynn. Are you blogging? I just want you to live up to the name of this site.

    • Brynn said:

      new blog name: brynn blogs [occasionally in her limited amount of free time].

      • BOOOOOOOO

        I’m not above openly mocking you about this. I’m a terrible human being.

      • Brynn said:

        I’m going to heckle you on your blog. Just wait.

        I’m an even worse human being.

  9. Tyler said:

    “Snoop Dog was running at a rate of 6 miles per hour to get to his ’64 Impala, which is 30 miles away. How long will it take him to get to the garage?”

    The Equation: 6h = 30
    The Variable: h = hours
    The Answer: It will take Snoop Dee Oh Double G precisely 5 hours to reach his destination, a ’64 Impala carrying illegal drugs and possibly some Gin and/or Juice.

  10. Tip for #5: Can you back in when you get home, so you can pull out forward? We have to do this at our house, because it is impossible to see past the giant tree and spot the semi doing 65 if you try to back out.

Leave a Reply

